Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cycling | International Cycling

Michal Kwiatkowski © Gallo Images

Kwiatkowski takes Tirreno lead

Former world champion Michal Kwiatkowski took over the lead of Tirreno-Adriatico on Sunday as his Sky team leader Chris Froome struggled.

Briton Adam Yates won the 178km fifth stage on the same day his twin brother Simon was pipped to overall victory at Paris-Nice by just four seconds.

Current world champion Peter Sagan of Slovakia led the chasing group over the line seven seconds behind Yates with Kwiatkowski taking third.

It meant Pole Kwiatkowski earned four bonus points on the line to take the overall lead from Italian Damiano Caruso by 3sec.

Spaniard Mikel Landa is third while Briton Geraint Thomas, Kwiatkowski's Sky teammate, is fourth at 29sec.

The Welshman had been the overall leader following Friday's third stage but lost it after suffering a mechanical problem on Saturday's final climb.

Froome also suffered a mechanical problem on Sunday with 5.5km to ride and finished the stage from Castelraimondo to Filottrano more than eight minutes after the winner.

Froome is building up towards a tilt at May's Giro d'Italia but has seemed out of form this year.

He was 10th overall at last month's Ruta del Sol and has struggled this week in Italy.

He has a potential doping ban hanging over his head after returning an adverse analytical reading from a doping test at last year's Vuelta a Espana, which he won for the first time.


1. Adam Yates (GBR/ Mitchelton-Scott) 4:16:35
2. Peter Sagan(SVK/ BORA - hansgrohe) 0:07
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/ Team Sky) s.t
4. Tiesj Benoot(BEL/ Lotto Soudal) s.t
5. Rigoberto Uran (COL/ Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) s.t
6. Geraint Thomas (GBR/ Team Sky) s.t
7. Mikel Landa (ESP/ Movistar Team) s.t
8. Jaime Roson (ESP/ Movistar Team) s.t
9. Romain Bardet (FRA/ AG2R La Mondiale) s.t
10. Damiano Caruso (ITA/ BMC Racing Team) s.t
11. Davide Formolo (ITA/ BORA - hansgrohe) s.t
12. George Bennett (NZL/ Team LottoNL-Jumbo) 0:12
13. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/ Astana Pro Team) s.t
14. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) 0:15
15. José Gonçalves (POR/ Team Katusha - Alpecin) s.t
16. Sep Vanmarcke (BEL/ Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) s.t
17. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/ Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) 0:23
18. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/ BMC Racing Team ) 0:25
19. Sergey Firsanov (RUS/ Gazprom-RusVelo) 0:38
20. Diego Ulissi (ITA/ UAE-Team Emirates) s.t
22. Daryl Impey (RSA/ Mitchelton-Scott) 0:38
24. Louis Meintjes (RSA/ Dimension Data) 0:38
36. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ Dimension Data) 1:11
37. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ Dimension Data) s.t
42. Julien Vermote (BEL/ Dimension Data) 1:19
DNF. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ Dimension Data) -4:16:35
DNF. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ Dimension Data) s.t


1. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/ Team Sky) 21:31:28
2. Damiano Caruso (ITA/ BMC Racing Team) 0:03
3. Mikel Landa (ESP/ Movistar Team) 0:23
4. Geraint Thomas (GBR/ Team Sky) 0:29
5. Rigoberto Uran (COL/ Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) 0:34
6. Adam Yates (GBR/ Mitchelton-Scott) 0:36
7. Davide Formolo (ITA/ BORA - hansgrohe) 0:37
8. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/ Lotto Soudal) 0:39
9. George Bennett (NZL/ Team LottoNL-Jumbo) 0:41
10. Jaime Roson (ESP/ Movistar Team) 0:47
11. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team) 0:52
12. Romain Bardet (FRA/ AG2R La Mondiale ) 0:53
13. Fabio Aru (ITA/ UAE-Team Emirates) 1:19
14. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/ Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team ) 1:20
15. Louis Meintjes (RSA/ Dimension Data) 2:24
16. Miguel Ange Lopezl (COL Astana Pro Team) 2:42
17. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/ Astana Pro Team) 2:50
18. Simon Špilak (SVN/ Team Katusha - Alpecin) 3:26
19. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/ Nippo - Vini Fantini - Europa Ovini) 3:45
20. Bob Jungels (NED/ Quick-Step Floors) 3:51
39. Julien Vermote (BEL/ Dimension Data) 15:33
50. Daryl Impey (RSA/ Mitchelton-Scott) 19:43
59. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ Dimension Data) 24:08
65. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ Dimension Data) 27:32


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming